What we're talking about

Breaking news, legislative updates and the facts.

Michigan AFL-CIO Endorses Candidates for 2016 Election

LANSING – The Michigan AFL-CIO has endorsed the following candidates in races for the Michigan House of Representatives, Michigan Senate, and U.S. House of Representatives. The endorsements were voted on by the Michigan AFL-CIO’s Executive Council.

“Michigan needs leaders who will wake up every day fighting to make our economy work for everyone,” said Ron Bieber, President of the Michigan AFL-CIO. “That’s why we’re proud to support these candidates for public office in 2016. Each one of them has demonstrated a strong commitment to fighting for good jobs, strong wages, and a quality education for every student in Michigan. The Michigan AFL-CIO and our affiliates are ready to mobilize our members and get to work in every corner of the state to win these important races in November.”

Endorsed Candidate for President by the National AFL-CIO:

Hillary Clinton

Endorsed Candidates for U.S. House of Representatives:

Lon Johnson (District 1), Dennis Murphy (District 2), Dan Kildee (District 5), Paul Clements (District 6), Gretchen Driskell (District 7), Sandy Levin (District 9), Frank Accavitti Jr. (District 10), Dr. Anil Kumar (District 11), Debbie Dingell (District 12), John Conyers (District 13), Brenda Lawrence (District 14)

Endorsed Candidates for Michigan House of Representatives:

Brian Banks (District 1), Bettie Cook Scott (District 2), Wendall Byrd (District 3), Rose Mary Robinson (District 4), Fred Durhall III (District 5), Stephanie Chang (District 6), LaTanya Garrett (District 7), Sherry Gay-Dagnogo (District 8), Leslie Love (District 10), Erica Geiss (District 12), Frank Liberati (District 13), Robert Kosowski (District 16), Bill LaVoy (District 17), Kevin Hertel (District 18), Colleen Pobur (District 20), Kristy Pagan (District 21), John Chirkun (District 22), Dana Camphous-Peterson (District 24), Henry Yanez (District 25), Jim Ellison (District 26), Robert Wittenberg (District 27), Patrick Green (District 28), Tim Greimel (District 29), Michael Notte (District 30), William J. Sowerby (District 31), Sheldon Neeley (District 34), Jeremy Moss (District 35), Christine Grieg (District 37), Michael Stack (District 39), Nicole Bedi (District 40), Cyndi Peltonen (District 41), Tim Johnson (District 42), Pam Faris (District 48), Phil Phelps (District 49), Tim Sneller (District 50), Yousef Rahbi (District 53), Ronnie Peterson (District 54), Adam Zemke (District 55), Tom Redmond (District 56), Harvey Schmidt (District 57), Jon Hoadley (District 60), Jim Haadsma (District 62), Ronald Brooks (District 64), Bonnie Johnson (District 65), Annie Brown (District 66), Tom Cochran (District 67), Andy Schor (District 68), Sam Singh (District 69), Theresa Abed (District 71), David LaGrand (District 75), Winnie Brinks (District 76), Marletta Seats (District 79), Lynn Mason (District 86), Tim Meyer (District 89), Collene Lamonte (District 91), Vanessa Guerra (District 95), Geoff Malicoat (District 98), Bryan Mielke (District 99), Dan Scripps (District 101), Erin Scott Celello (District 108), John Kivela (District 109), Scott Dianda (District 110)

Endorsed Candidate for Michigan Senate:

Ian Conyers (District 4)

# # #

Get involved with the Michigan AFL-CIO

Our mission is to improve the lives of working families and bring economic justice to the workplace - and you can too.